P&O moved here from their previous building on Des Voeux Road.
This plot was on the newly reclaimed land between Des Voeux Rd and Connaught Road. It was the last one to be built on along this section of the reclamation, and was taller than its neighbours, standing out in photos of the island taken from the harbour.
Completion date supplied by Moddsey from the 1924 PWD Report:
New offices of the P. & O. Co. on M. L. 366, Des Voeux Road Central were completed.
The demolition date is a guess, based on photos we've seen showing the construction of the next P&O building, also on this site. Corrections welcome.
Noel Croucher lived here for a time:
Perhaps the move to the Peak had been premature - after all, the twenties were years of economic losses for many - for the young family soon moved downhill again, to take up residence in the penthouse of the P & O (Peninsula & Oriental) Building in Central. Jury lists show that this was Noel's registered address from 1926 to the War, apart from one year of absence in 1931 and one year at the Hong Kong Club in 1932. This stunning apartment had a balcony running around four sides where the young (and, one fears, precocious) Richard could ride his bicycle at will. Noel Croucher had not far to walk to the stock exchange on Ice House Street.
Pages 100-1, The Quest of Noel Croucher by Vaudine England.